You are here: Home >> College Football >> Alabama Crimson Tide Trends
Alabama Crimson Tide, ‘Bama football trends, NCAA Division I Southeastern Conference

Alabama Crimson Tide Trends


University of Alabama football, Bear Bryant, Big Al


The Alabama Crimson Tide football program represents the University of Alabama (variously Alabama, UA, or 'Bama). The team currently competes in NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision as a member of the Southeastern Conference.

The Crimson Tide's Conference and Tournament History

The Crimson Tide is one of the most storied and decorated programs in NCAA history. Since beginning play in 1892, the program has claimed 13 national championships, and is tied with Notre Dame with eight consensus wire national titles. From 1958 to 1982, the team was led by Hall of Fame coach Paul "Bear" Bryant, who won six national championships with the program.

Alabama has 792 victories in NCAA Division I, has won 26 conference championships (4 Southern Conference and 22 SEC championships) and has made an NCAA-record 57 postseason bowl appearances. Other NCAA records include 22 10-game win streaks, and 16 seasons with a 10-0 start. The program has 29 10-win seasons, and is tied with the USC Trojans with 31 bowl victories. The Crimson Tide leads the SEC West Division with seven division titles and seven appearances in the SEC Championship Game. Alabama holds a winning record against every current and former SEC school. Alabama is the only SEC school to win an SEC Championship in every decade since the conference was founded in 1933.

Alabama's Bryant-Denny Stadium

Alabama currently plays their home games at Bryant-Denny Stadium, located on the campus in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. The stadium opened in 1929, and was originally named Denny Stadium, in honor of former Alabama president George Hutchenson Denny. The stadium's name was changed to Bryant-Denny Stadium in 1975, after the Alabama legislature chose to honor famed Alabama coach Paul "Bear" Bryant. It has a seating capacity of 92,138, making it the fourth largest stadium in the SEC and the eleventh largest stadium in the nation. Since the 1988 football season, the university has sold out every game played at the stadium. In February 2009 the University of Alabama board of trustees gave approval to begin stadium expansion of the south endzone,with a capacity of more than 101,000 which, upon its completion, will make Bryant-Denny Stadium the largest stadium in the Southeastern Conference.

Alabama's Mascot

Big Al is the costumed mascot of the University of Alabama Crimson Tide in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

The costumed "Big Al" mascot officially debuted at the 1979 Sugar Bowl, when the Tide beat Penn State University for the national championship. Since then, the mascot has been a fan favorite for the Tide fans. As the Crimson Tide do not have a logo on their helmets or uniforms, Big Al's likeness appears on much team merchandise and such.

Trends under Alabama's Head Coaches

Alabama has had 28 head coaches since organized football began in 1892. Adopting the nickname of the Crimson Tide after the 1907 season, the team has played more than 1,100 games in their 114 seasons. In that time, 12 coaches have led the Crimson Tide in postseason bowl games: Wallace Wade, Frank Thomas, Harold Drew, Paul "Bear" Bryant, Ray Perkins, Bill Curry, Gene Stallings, Mike DuBose, Dennis Franchione, Mike Shula, Joe Kines, and Nick Saban. Eight of those coaches also won conference championships: Wade, Thomas, Drew, Bryant, Curry, Stallings, DuBose, and Saban. During their tenures, Wade, Thomas, Bryant, Stallings, and Saban all won national championships with the Crimson Tide. Of the 27 different head coaches who have led the Crimson Tide, Wade, Thomas and Bryant have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The current head coach is Nick Saban, who was hired in January 2007.

Crimson Tide Football Rivalries

The main rival of the Crimson Tide is against in-state rivals, Auburn University. The rivalry is considered to be one of the best and most hard-fought rivalries in all of sports. The outcome of the game generally determines "bragging rights" in the state of Alabama until the following contest. Due to the intensity of the rivalry, many families, marriages, and other groups are split over their respective teams. In their most recent meeting, Alabama defeated Auburn 26-21. The victory was Alabama's first over the Tigers at Jordan-Hare since 2001 and gave Alabama a two-game winning streak over Auburn.

Despite the heated in-state rivalry with Auburn, Bear Bryant was more adamant about defeating his rivals to the north, the Tennessee Volunteers. The series is named the Third Saturday in October, the traditional calendar date on which the game was played. Between 1971 and 1981, Alabama held an eleven-game winning streak over the Volunteers and, between 1986 and 1994, a nine-game unbeaten streak. However, following Alabama's streak, Tennessee responded with a seven-game winning streak from 1995-2001. Alabama has won the last three meetings, and leads the series 47-38-7.

A rivalry within the SEC Western Division occurs yearly between Alabama and the LSU Tigers. The teams did not regularly meet until the mid-1960s, during Alabama's dominance of the SEC. Between 1971-1981, the Crimson Tide won 11 consecutive times. In the 1969 game, LSU defeated Alabama 20-15 in Baton Rouge. Alabama did not lose again in Baton Rouge until 2000.

In 2007, the meeting was more heated following Alabama's hiring of head coach Nick Saban, who previously coached at LSU. With the hiring, many media outlets dubbed the 2007 meeting as the "Saban Bowl". The Crimson Tide lost the first "Saban Bowl" in 2007, but has won the last two meetings. Alabama leads the head-to-head series at 45-23-5.


Bryant-Denny Stadium, Crimson Tide trends, SEC West Division

<< Prev  Next >>

college football trends, Nick Saban